Armchair Traveling: My thoughts on Our Last Days in Barcelona by Chanel Cleeton

Hello Patrons! 🙂

Curtesy of Goodreads

I have been reading Our Last Days in Barcelona by Chanel Cleeton for the past week or so. I love reconnecting with the Perez family. This book covers Isabel in 1964, who after a fight with her estranged sister Beatriz goes to find her in Barcelona Spain, and her mother Alicia in 1936 Barcelona who is leaving her life in Havana after it has fallen apart. Beatriz is an ex-spy for the CIA. Both Isabel and Alicia where secondary characters in the previous books Cleeton has written in this series. I didn’t think I would be as enthusiastic about reading about their stories as I’ve been. A third storyline is Rosa, Alicia’s cousin in 1937 Havana. She is witnessing the first big revolution in Cuba after they declared independence from Spain. Alicia and Isabel are witnessing different eras of Franco’s Spain. This has been super entertaining so far. I’m just at the halfway point.

Gifphy.com
Kitten reading (Gifphy.com)

The three plot lines mirror each other thematically in some ways, like with family and fidelity. I like that this series is quieter than other historical fiction books. What I mean by that is that it’s a couple characters living their lives with history playing out in the background. It’s not people being tortured or going off to war. I like just watching the characters doing the minutia of life. I haven’t picked a favorite character yet. I will let you know when that happens. I think that Isabel’s love interest Diego is my favorite love interest though. I hope in the future Maria, Isabel’s youngest sister, gets her own book in the future. I’m excited to see her character arc, because she’s been a tertiary character in each of the previous books. There’s lots to explore with her. I know that Rosa is getting her own book in 2024.

Tell me what you’re reading in the comments below. I will update y’all when I finish this book. Take care of yourselves, stay hydrated, practice some self-care, and…

Stay Golden! 🙂

-Leila

Leave a comment