My 2022 Bookish Goals!

Hello Patrons! 🙂

As the end of 2021 approaches, I decided to talk about my goals for the upcoming year. I made a list of 5 goals that I want to achieve in the next 12 months. Let’s get into it!

These are in no order:

My first goal is to only have books that I am actively reading on my bedside table. If I don’t pick up the book after putting it on my bedside table after 6 months, I must take it off the bedside table. That could mean donating it to my local Goodwill or getting the audiobook version. I just have a small bedside table and need to only have the books I’m reading on the table. I don’t want to have a lot of clutter or dust in 2022.

Libby Logo

My second goal is to continue using Libby for audiobooks. In 2021 I changed jobs twice, my job in the beginning of 2021 gave me a lot of time to listen to audiobooks, then the first job switch didn’t allow me a ton of audiobook time. My second job switch, my current job, gives me a little more time to listen to audiobooks. Also, I like that Libby allows you to have multiple audiobooks checked out, where Audible only allows you 1 credit a month and you have to pay for a subscription. Libby is free with your library card. I want to be thrifty in 2022, and I also don’t want to give any more money to Jeff Bezos than I already do. I’m hoping to read a couple audiobooks a month in 2022. We’ll see how that goes.

My third goal is piggybacking on my second goal which is just to listen to audiobooks in general. 2021 was crazy for the reasons mentioned above, and because of my master’s program. I’ve gotten into listening to a lot of podcasts this year, but I also want to carve out some of that podcast time to listen to audiobooks.

My fourth goal is read more graphic novels and books in verse in 2022.  I read a handful of graphic novels this year and I want to read more in the future.  I love graphic novels, so I was surprised I didn’t read more. I only read 1 novel in verse this year and want to read more in 2022.

Gifphy.com
Kitten reading (Gifphy.com)

My last goal is to try eBooks again. I used to have an OG Kindle when I was 13 but ended up spending a ton of money on eBooks and my e-reader broke and I grew bored with it. I just got the newest generation Kindle for Christmas and am excited to be more intentional with my e-reading. I tried reading eBooks on my phone but couldn’t get comfortable with reading eBooks on my phone. I am currently reading TR: the Last Romantic by HW Brands on my Kindle and am liking it so far.

Tell me what your goals are in the comments below. Do you have any similar goals? Let me know.

Take care of yourselves, get vaccinated, wash your hands, practice some self-care, and…

Stay Golden! 🙂

-Leila

Leave a comment