My Thoughts on The Nobleman’s Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks, Foreshadow, and Notable Native People

Hello Patrons!

I am in the middle of a lot of books right now and wanted to talk about them! I am going to go in order of the book that I most recently started, to the one I’ve been reading the longest. Let’s get into it!

Okay let’s first talk about The Nobleman’s Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks (Montague Siblings #3) by Mackenzi Lee. I went out the day this came out last Tuesday and bought it at my local Barns and Noble. Y’all I’ve been waiting for this book for 2 years. This is a YA historical fiction book. Readers follow Adrian, the youngest Montague sibling who is living in the 1700’s, writing political dissent pamphlets, and trying to grapple with the loss of his mother prior to the opening of the novel. Adrian is about to become a member of the House of Lords. Adrian is engaged to Louisa, the out-spoken, independent, and well-read sister of Adrian’s friend. Louisa is my favorite side character, btw. When Adrian is given a family heirloom from his mother’s things, he sets out on an adventure. Along the way, Adrian connects with his older brother (and everyone’s favorite bisexual rake) Henry “Monty” Montague, as well as his super bookish older sister Felicity. Readers also become reacquainted to Percy, Monty’s partner. I think Adrian’s dad is a terrible person, for events that happened in book 1, and for how he treats Adrian. I loved seeing Percy and Monty again. I giggled for a solid 5 minutes. I’m still waiting for Felicity to show up. I am currently just under 60% and will probably close out November with this book. I am really liking it and just am trying to take my time with it. Read this entire series, starting with The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

Let’s talk about the non-fiction book I’m reading for #nonfictionnovember. Because November is Indigenous Peoples History Month, I wanted to educate myself on Indigenous history. The book I chose to read on the topic of Indigenous history is Notable Native People: 50 Indigenous Leaders, Dreamers, and Changemakers from Past and Present by Adrienne Keene. This is a coffee table type book where you learn about 50 indigenous leaders and activists. Every profile has a stunningly colorful portrait next to a short biography. I like reading a couple profiles every day before bed. I am just over 50% and am just taking my time reading this book. I’ve learned so much while reading this book.

Now let’s get into the book I’ve been reading the longest. That is a short story anthology titled Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA edited by Emily X.R. Pan and Nova Ren Suma. This is all about writing YA, so stories by up-and-coming YA authors are included along with essays and prompts from Pan and Suma about craft elements of writing. Popular authors, like Becky Albertalli, Gayle Forman, and Jandy Nelson introduce each story. I am on the 3rd to last story. Many of the stories are fantastic, as anthologies tend to be. I’m excited to finish this.

I have no idea what I am going to read next. I have many holds that just came in from the library. The new Anne Patchett essay collection is on its way to my house. We’ll see what I’m feeling. I’m in the process of figuring out my December TBR.

Take care of yourselves, get vaccinated for covid and the flu (and get your booster!!), wash your hands, practice some self-care, and…

Stay Golden!

-Leila

Leave a comment