My Initial Thoughts on Love is a Revolution by Renee Watson

Hello Patrons! 🙂

So, after finishing another book yesterday (that wasn’t anything to write home about), I started another book called Love is a Revolution by Renee Watson. Love is a Revolution came out on February 2nd, but I just got it as a hold from my library last week. This book follows Nala over the summer before her senior year of high school. Nala wants to fall in love, as well as just hang with her cousin Imani. Nala meets Tye, who’s part of an activism group in their neighborhood of Harlem. Tye is a vegetarian and very woke. Nala loves food (especially meat) and just wants to have fun. Nala goes on a journey to discover that romance isn’t the be all end all and sometimes it’s revolutionary to love yourself as well as others.

I am currently on chapter 6. I currently like Nala as a narrator. She has a habit of making lists, which end up in several chapters. Nala’s very witty and opinionated. Tye I am not too crazy about at this point, but I know it’s not a romance, so I’m not concerned about him. I really like the pacing so far. (Also, the cover is super cute just btw!).

I am looking forward to continuing with this and letting you know what I think about it as I get further along. I think this book is a good bridge into Woman’s History month in March.

Besides Love is a Revolution I just started 400 Souls edited by Ibram X Kendi. This is an anthology of essays and poems around the topic of African American History from the year 1619 to 2019. So far, I don’t have much of an opinion on it, but I’ve only read one essay. When I read more of that I will update you all. I am also almost finished listening to The Doctors Blackwell by Janice P. Nimura for book club on Tuesday. I’ve got just under an hour left. I am also patiently waiting for my copy of Chain of Iron by Cassandra Clare to arrive. Amazon still says it is coming March 9th. (*insert eye roll emoji*).

Please tell me what you’re reading or listening to in the comments below. How many books did you read this month? I read 13. Take care of yourselves, wash your hands, wear a mask in public (!!), practice selfcare, and…

Stay Golden! 🙂

Leila

One thought on “My Initial Thoughts on Love is a Revolution by Renee Watson

Leave a comment