Initial Thoughts on Concrete Rose and On Writers and Writing

Hello Patrons! 🙂

I haven’t had a ton of thoughts on the past couple of books I had read this month, but I want to talk about the two books I am currently reading.

Firstly is Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas.

Concrete Rose Angie Thomas https://app.asana.com

Concrete Rose By Angie Thomas

Concrete Rose follows Maverick Carter, who we first meet in The Hate U Give as a Starr’s dad. He starts out as a stereotypical teen boy. He likes to date women, go to football games, etc. In the beginning of Concrete Rose Mav realizes he’s a dad. Throughout the novel he matures into the father we meet in THUG.

I have enjoyed seeing Maverick mature. One of the themes of the novel is of manly-ness. Mav has all these ideas of masculinity that are reshaped or completely dismantled. He is mentored by the owner of the town grocery store Mr. Wyatt. Mr. Wyatt teaches Maverick about roses and gardening. I am extremely excited to see how this book ends.

On Writers And Writing by Margret Atwood

Nextly, we have On Writers and Writing my Margret Atwood. I love reading about authors views on writing. On Writers and Writing is a compendium of 6 speeches Atwood gave at a seminar about the writing process. I love Atwood’s writing style so I am ready to glean whatever I can from her about the process. I am only on the first speech. It’s good so far.

Please tell me what your reading in the comments below! Take care of yourselves, wash your hands, wear a mask in public, practice some self care, and…

Stay Golden! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Initial Thoughts on Concrete Rose and On Writers and Writing

Leave a comment