+ Is for Plus: LGBTQIA+ Book Recommendations

Hello Patrons! 🙂 

Today is the final day of our acronym recommendations for Pride Month! + in the acronym is for either genderqueer/nonbinary, pansexual, angender, bigender, gender variant, or pangender. Sadly I have only read two books in this + category and they are Pride flagboth books about non-binary characters. In the future I am definitely going to be looking for more representation across the spectrum, as I’ve said before.

Let’s get into it!

I Wish You All the Best By Mason Deaver 

An #OwnVoices from a non-binary author. Ben comes out to their parents as non-binary and it doesn’t go well. After being kicked out of his house, he starts over living with his I wish you all the bestsister in the next town over. Ben learns to love themselves and to demand the love they deserve. Also the love interest is either gay or bi. (I can’t exactly remember but I know he’s a person of color so woo!) This book gave me the feels like nobody’s business. I gave I Wish You All the Best 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. I recommend this for anyone who wants to have the feels, and likes super pure main characters.

Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker

This a cute fantasy story about a lesbian witch who falls in love with a non-binary werewolf. It was so cute! I thought the pacing of this graphic novel was a bit wonky but I thought it was a good look into character development of the two love interests. The art style was super cute. It gave me fall vibes for some reason. I gave Mooncakes 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. I recommend this for people who like graphic novels (not just queer mooncakesgraphic novels but all graphic novels), who like books such as Simon Versus the Homo Sapiens AgendaHeart Stoppers vols 1-3or Check Please! vols 1&2

Sorry I didn’t have more recommendations. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, the further I go down the acronym the less I have to recommend. Which is for a bunch of reasons, publishing is one reason, my own reading is another. I have been reading queer books from a young age, but most of these books are about gay men. As an ally I am going to try and read more diversely in the future, and I encourage everyone else to do so. Reading builds empathy, and that’s something we desperately need in our world today.

Permanent Record and My Calamity Jane are so far so good. How to Be an Anti-Racist is permanent recordfantastic, I just started the second chapter on audiobook. Ibram X Kendi is so freaking smart! For more resources look at Penguin Random Houses’ Ultimate Pride reading list.

What are you currently reading? Tell me in the comments below. Have you read any of the books we’ve talked about today? Let me know.

As always; take care of yourselves, wash your hands, if your going to protests wear a mask and gloves, and…

Stay Golden! 🙂 

-Leila

 

One thought on “+ Is for Plus: LGBTQIA+ Book Recommendations

Leave a comment