Chain of Gold update 9 & 10 (???): Demons, “Lover’s” Quarrels, and Queerness

Hello Patrons! 🙂 

Sorry I forgot to update yesterday I was having technical difficulties and also got distracted on a story I’m working on.

edwardian girl
Edwardian girl Fromthebygone.wordpress.com

Firstly, we finally get a semi satisfying demon fight scene. (I say semi because Grace was over in the corner being nervous and not helping at all, like yes you were never trained about how to fight but isn’t there a instinct of how to defend yourself????) Also Tatiana is the literal worst because she threatens to sully Graces reputation and throw her to the Shadowhunters she hates so much. Like I understand being petty, but there comes a point where your completely delusional to keep dragging said grudge around. In the words of T Swift: you need to calm down.

James and Grace has a “lovers quarrel” (they’re relationship has a weird dynamic and it’s not love but that’s a separate rant), where Grace demands that Jamie not only marry her, but run away with her, strip himself of his Runes (fancy tattoos that give special powers) and leave EVERYTHING AND EVERYONE HE’S EVER KNOWN to be with her. This is not love people it’s Grace being controlling.  I’m also irritated because James obviously cares more for Cordelia than for Grace, but feels like he needs to uphold Grace’s honor or something. Like wake up dude. You don’t want to be a mundane (there word for human) with her so your obviously not right for each other, let it go. obama mic drop

We also have a character being revealed as queer which adds a level of angst I’m so here for.

clary and jace fan art
Clary and Jace fan art

Overall I’m glad that I decided to read this now, because I am entertained (even though most of these updates are me ranting and raving about characters issues). I’m excited to see how everyone ends up, and how big of a cliffhanger Cassie Clare leaves us on. (Spoiler for new readers of Cassie’s books: most end in cliffhangers).

What is everyone else reading during the quarantine? Let me know in the comments below.

Happy reading, wash your hands and…

Stay Golden! 🙂

Leila

2 thoughts on “Chain of Gold update 9 & 10 (???): Demons, “Lover’s” Quarrels, and Queerness

Leave a comment